michaelericbrown.com

Snap Judgment – Machinarium (PS Vita) Micro-Review

leave a comment »

Machinarium (PS Vita)

As I eluded to in my previous Premature Judgment about the game, this is a very cute, clever puzzle game oozing with wonderful art and style.

I made a mistake about one item in that summary, however.  It is possible to manipulate the cursor with the touchscreen (and even the back touch panel), but this is difficult to do well.  It’s easier, at least in my mind, to use the analog stick — as awkward as that is.

My only complaint about the game, and the reason I’m giving a grade lower than it probably deserves, is the lack of context in the puzzles throughout the levels.  You almost have to randomly click over various parts of the screen to find items you can either manipulate or pick up, and you’re not even sure why you’re doing so until you randomly click it with something else.  Also, some things can’t be manipulated unless you’re standing next to them, but some others you can click from afar, and your robot will saunter over and do some wholly unexpected action.

It really feels like you’re just throwing things against the wall, waiting for something to stick.  It doesn’t help that the items I found were unlabeled as well, so I couldn’t always tell what it was that I had, which would have been a clue as to where to take them.

In other words, keep a guide handy.

Still, a charming journey.  B

Written by Michael

19 September 2013 at 12:17 am

Posted in Games

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment